Official Community Time
Latest topics
» Black Ops 2 Backwards Compatibility
April 16th 2017, 7:31 pm by Nay

» Happy New Year!
January 30th 2017, 4:39 am by noelbeast

» Battlefield 1: False advertising?
October 23rd 2016, 6:28 pm by noelbeast

» Over Watch
August 19th 2016, 6:23 pm by EeeZeey

» getting some games before main event starts
August 8th 2016, 3:59 pm by DrFree_Man

» CoD4 anyone?
July 21st 2016, 4:28 pm by EeeZeey

» League of Legends?
July 18th 2016, 10:57 am by Killa

Top posting users this month


My Review of The SCUF

View previous topic View next topic Go down

20120915

Post 

My Review of The SCUF




Hey guys, this is going to be a review of my controller I purchased, the SCUF Hornet PS. I've had it for a little less than a week now and feel fairly comfortable with it. Well, here it goes.

First, here's a list of all the features that I got on it:
Left Paddle Configured to remap X
Right Paddle Configured to remap O
SCUF Grip
I chose to keep the rumble packs in
Hornet Yellow Paddle Design
Blackout Buttons
Black Carrying/Protection case

First Impressions/Feel in hand:
I was very surprised at how well this controller looked, the yellow paint on the front and paddles is a soft-feeling paint. It's flat, and not opaque at all. The black out buttons look very good, the X,O,square, triangle buttons are a flat black, and for some reason, if the light gets the right angle on them, you can see the outline of the shape on the button. The PS button is a gloss black, and the start/select buttons are blacker than normal. The controller feels better built than all Sony controllers I've ever owned (if you try and twist a normal controller, you can feel and hear some movement, not in this).

Paddles:
The paddles are exactly what I was expecting. They're two pieces of plastic or maybe aluminum that have two screws in the top, and run down the back of the controller to a button on the bottom of it. The button is an easy to push button that makes quite a loud click when pushed. The buttons are very responsive, and the jumping one is making a different sound now from being used more than the knifing one, whether it's broke in, or worn out already, time will tell. They are in a semi-awkward spot, using R1 makes my fingers not fit in the exact spot on them, but switching to tactical flipped so that fire is R2 makes my fingers fit perfectly in place on them.

Hair Triggers:
This portion is the biggest let-down on the controller. Basically, they added a small metal plate into L2 and R2, claiming that it only requires a slight movement to be able to react, which isn't how it works. You still have to push down the trigger a lot to be able to fire, which caused me to lose many gun fights, especially in a scrim. I switched back to regular, and forced myself to adjust my fingers on the paddles.

Protection Case:
Again, exactly what I expected. It's a hard shelled case that protects your controller when you're traveling. The outside is covered in a material that feels like that of basketball shorts, and the inside is covered in a fleece-type material. The zippers have the scuf logo on them. It was $13, and I could see it being a good price for something sold alone. Not necessary to have, but when you have a $130 controller, it might be a good idea to protect it.

Scuf Grip:
I talked about it a little already, but I'll go into more depth. It's a grip that gets sprayed on the back half of the controller. It's hard to describe what it feels like. It's not necessarily rubber, but it's grippy. I've noticed I haven't had to wipe my hands to keep my controller from slipping. If you feel the grip, you don't really notice it, but if you stick your fingernail into it and try to move it around, you can definitely feel the grip. If you don't sweat when you play, it's not necessarily a good add on.

Gameplay:
My first few days of playing wasn't going so well, it's a lot to take in with the paddles and playing on flipped. It's hard to get used to the paddles, I'm still not used to them actually. I may be overusing the jump paddle a little, I'm constantly Moho jumping around corners. It's hard to think about using the paddle to panic knife when someone pops up in front of you. Playing on flipped was a bad experience for me. The triggers just weren't sensitive enough for me to get a good reaction time. The "no slow turn guarantee" is more than you think. The thumbsticks feel more fluid to use, and the edge of the controller doesn't dig in to the left thumbstick from constantly running if anyone's ever experienced that.

Overall:
I am very satisfied with my purchase. Everything about it is better than a regular Dualshock 3. SCUF's support was top of the line, they answered any question that I had very fast, and you can tell that detail went into making it.

---Pictures to come soon---
avatar
Rocker
Colleague

Platform : PS3
Strikes : 0 strikes
Posts : 687
Join date : 2011-11-28
Age : 22
Location : Michigan, USA
Mic/Headset : Yes

Back to top Go down

- Similar topics
Share this post on: Excite BookmarksDiggRedditDel.icio.usGoogleLiveSlashdotNetscapeTechnoratiStumbleUponNewsvineFurlYahooSmarking

My Review of The SCUF :: Comments

avatar

Post on September 15th 2012, 6:45 am by Monica

Sounds good, thanks for the review, Ryan! I'm pretty sure now after reading this - I'm gonna get a scuf! Very Happy

And that's what I meant the other day also; using R1 for fire, would might be difficult for me too cause I don't reach the back of the controller then, haha:p

Back to top Go down

avatar

Post on September 15th 2012, 11:45 am by JustThatDino

Nice review (:

Back to top Go down

avatar

Post on September 15th 2012, 4:12 pm by Tom_BCFC

Thanks for the review, I'll be buying one soon when I have the money

Back to top Go down

avatar

Post on February 21st 2013, 3:27 pm by BlindTru

I found the paddles could be positioned better for the PS3, also the grip on my right analogue stick wore off in a matter of days now I use a FPS freek I found laying around as it's cheaper than sending back. Also I think they could make the paddles easier to press in, I find it hard to use them as reactionary tools when you have to apply so much pressure. but everything else I agree with rocker, great review

Back to top Go down

avatar

Post on February 21st 2013, 11:23 pm by Rocker

Yeah, they could definitely be positioned better, but I've gotten used to it over the 5-6 months that I've had it. That's pretty weird about the grip on the thumbstick, it looks like my left one is a little more worn than the right, but after 5 months, it's still in better shape than a regular dualshock. I felt the same about the force needed to hit the buttons, but now I've gotten pretty used to it.

The only complaints I have after having it for around 5-6 months is that the shaft of the left thumbstick has that serious wear that any COD player knows, where the stick rubs against the part surrounding it while you're running. I assumed it would have been semi- fixed because the "no slow turn" just means they trimmed back the plastic and made it not so sharp.

Back to top Go down

Post  by Sponsored content

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum